Cold calling

Cold calling guides

Figures in these guides carry their source, year and sample size, and editorial estimates are labelled as estimates. Start with the quick answers below, or go straight to a section.

MNAbhi ChawlaLast substantive update 29 guides

Quick answers, with the source for each

The eight questions these guides get asked most, answered in two sentences each. The figures are the same ones the full guides use; the guide behind each answer has the method, the caveats and the case where the advice stops working.

QuestionShort answerSource, year, sample
How many cold calls should an SDR make a day?The Bridge Group's 2025 survey of 351 B2B companies puts the median SDR at 44 phone dials a day, inside 112 total activities. Phone-centric teams average 56 dials and 4.6 quality conversations.

Bertuzzi, M. (2025). Sales Development Models, Metrics & Compensation: 2025 Research Report (10th ed.). The Bridge Group (published 6 February 2025). 2025. 351 B2B companies, online survey, 2024 to 2025; figures are company-reported medians and averages, not call logs.

What is the best cold call opening line?Across 90,380 cold calls Gong measured, "How have you been?" booked meetings at 10.01 percent against a 1.5 percent baseline. "Did I catch you at a bad time?" booked at 0.9 percent, below baseline.

Gong Labs, "Cold call opening lines". 2018. 90,380 cold calls.

Should you leave a voicemail on a cold call?Gong's 2024 analysis found the connect rate on later dials fell from 7.18 to 5.17 percent once a voicemail was left. Email replies rose from 2.73 to 5.87 percent after one or two voicemails and fell to 2.2 percent after three or more.

Gong Labs, Armand Farrokh, "Should you leave voicemails when cold calling? Here's what the data says". 2024. 300M+ cold calls, as stated by Gong; counts behind each figure not disclosed.

What are the most common cold call objections?In Gong's 2024 data, "Not interested" and product fit are 17 percent of objections each, "No budget" 16, "Not my responsibility" 13 and a hang-up 11. Those five make up 74 percent.

Gong Labs, Armand Farrokh, "We found the top objections across 300M cold calls; here's how to handle them all". 2024. 300M+ cold calls, as stated by Gong; the number of objections counted is not disclosed.

How many attempts does it take to reach a prospect?Cognism's 2026 report says 1.55 calls, down from 2.9 in its 2025 data, and does not say how it counts an attempt. Belkins logged 175,000+ dials in 2025 at about three attempts per prospect and reached 24.5 percent of prospects at least once.

Cognism, "The State of Cold Calling in 2026". 2026. 200,000+ calls, as stated by Cognism; date range and attempt definition not published.

Belkins, Michael Maximoff, "B2B cold calling statistics 2026: Benchmarks from 175,000+ dials" (26 June 2026). 2025. 175,000+ dials logged by a B2B appointment-setting agency through 2025.

Is cold calling or cold email better?Belkins needed roughly 370 dials to book one meeting in 2025. Its 7,530,489 cold emails the same year replied at 0.45 percent and booked over 1,200 appointments. Calling usually entered those sequences after email went quiet, so the two numbers measure different stages.

Belkins, Michael Maximoff, "B2B cold calling statistics 2026: Benchmarks from 175,000+ dials" (26 June 2026). 2025. 175,000+ dials logged through 2025; outcome and seniority breakdowns from five anonymised client campaign exports.

Belkins, Margaret Lee, "What are B2B cold email response rates? Belkins' 2026 study" (updated 26 June 2026). 2025. 7,530,489 cold emails in Belkins client campaigns, January to December 2025.

What hours can you legally cold call?Federally, 8am to 9pm in the called person's local time, seven days a week, under 47 CFR 64.1200(c)(1) and 16 CFR 310.4(c). The state guide quotes 10 state rules, several of which shorten the window or ban Sundays.

FCC, 47 CFR 64.1200(c)(1). current text. regulation.

FTC Telemarketing Sales Rule, 16 CFR 310.4(c). current text. regulation.

How do I stop my number showing as Spam Likely?Start with Free Caller Registry: one free form reaches the three call protection providers First Orion, Hiya and TNS. The registry states that registering does not guarantee redress, so the spam guide covers each carrier's own dispute route as well.

Free Caller Registry (First Orion, Hiya, TNS). 2026. not applicable; operator's own terms.

How sources are chosen and labelled is on the methodology page. Figures we got wrong are listed on corrections.

Fundamentals (2)

How a cold call works end to end, and when email does the job better.

Scripts (4)

Openers, scripts, voicemails and gatekeepers, each checked against measured call data where any exists.

Objections (1)

The objections that actually come up, ranked by how often.

Data & benchmarks (4)

Activity, connect and attempt benchmarks, each with its source, year and sample size.

Pricing research (12)

What dialers cost once seats, minimums, contracts and telephony are all counted, read from each vendor's own pricing page.

12 min read

Power dialer pricing compared across 21 tools

Every published power dialer price in one table: the cheapest tier that actually includes a dialer, seat minimums, contract terms and how minutes are billed. 21 tools, each price read from the vendor page and archived.

9 min read

PhoneBurner pricing in 2026, and the minute count that justifies it

PhoneBurner's three tiers, what each one includes, what is locked to the top tier, and the talk-minute threshold above which unlimited calling costs less than paying a carrier directly.

9 min read

Kixie pricing in 2026, and what the add-ons do to it

Kixie removed dollar figures from its pricing page during 2026. Here are the dated third-party estimates, the add-ons that commonly double the bill, and the contract terms buried under them.

9 min read

Close CRM pricing in 2026, and where the dialer actually starts

Close advertises from $9. Its power dialer starts at $99 and minutes are billed on top. Every tier, what each includes, and what a calling-heavy seat really costs.

8 min read

JustCall pricing in 2026, and the two-user minimum nobody mentions

JustCall's four tiers, which one contains the power dialer, what the two-user minimum does to a solo seller's bill, and where multi-line dialing actually sits.

8 min read

Aircall pricing in 2026, and why the dialer costs $150 a month

Aircall lists $30 a licence and will not sell fewer than 3. The power dialer sits on the $50 tier, so the smallest cheque with a dialer is $150 a month. Every tier and every add-on.

8 min read

Apollo.io pricing in 2026, and what the dialer actually costs to use

Apollo's tiers, the credit model that bills calling at two credits a minute, the recorded-minute caps, and the point where a dedicated dialer costs less than the credits.

8 min read

Which sales dialer vendors publish their prices, and which do not

14 of 21 sales dialers publish prices with units; three hide them behind a form and three removed them in 2026. Each classification is quoted from the vendor's page with an archived snapshot, plus the add-ons a published price leaves out.

8 min read

Seat minimums and contract terms across every sales dialer

Which dialers force you to buy seats you will not fill, which require an annual commitment, and what the smallest possible cheque is at each of the 21 tools reviewed here.

10 min read

Power dialer cost in 2026, and the telephony half nobody prices

A power dialer costs $0 to $420 a seat a month, and telephony is a second bill of $0 to $80 a rep that most vendors hide. The real monthly total at three team sizes, and where unlimited calling stops being worth it.

9 min read

Orum pricing in 2026, and what the nine-seat minimum actually costs

Orum publishes no prices. Its own page states a nine-seat minimum, which puts the entry cost near $27,000 a year at the $250 a seat third-party guides estimate. Here is the arithmetic and what the same money buys.

10 min read

Nooks pricing in 2026, and why the two published estimates are five times apart

Nooks publishes no prices. The two sources ranking highest for this query give figures that do not overlap. Vendr's 57 purchases put the cheapest observed contract at $7,668 a year, about $128 a seat at the five-seat minimum. Here is the arithmetic.

Dialer mechanics (2)

How power, parallel and predictive dialing differ, and what carrying your own phone carrier changes.

Compliance (4)

Calling hours, consent rules and spam labelling, quoted from the statute or the operator's own words.